Mini Reviews: Jessie Hearts NYC & Emma Hearts LA by Keris Stainton

I actually read these two books in reverse order, not realising that the characters drag on to the next book! Nevertheless, I didn’t feel like there was too much of a lose, but I would recommend reading them in order.


jessieTitle:
 Jessie Hearts NYC
Author: Keris Stainton
Publication Date: 7th July 2011 (Orchard Books)
Pages: 272
Genre: Romance
Format: Paperback

Links to buy: |Amazon UK |  |Book Depository|  |Waterstones|

Jessie’s just arrived in New York, hoping to forget about her awful ex.

New Yorker Finn is in love with his best friend’s girlfriend.

They might be perfect together, but in a city of eight million people, will they ever find each other? [Goodreads]

This book is split with following Jessie and then following Finn and also seeing how their stories merge together. I kept frustratingly turning the pages waiting for Jessie and Finn to meet as they go to the same places but view them in different ways, Jessie the tourist and Finn the local.

What I loved about Jessie is that she went to New York and embraced being a tourist. I’ve read many a books where characters go on holiday to then go sit by a pool and eye up the guys that are hanging around. I, myself, am an active tourist and enjoy exploring the country that I’m in.

I guess I went into this book expecting more and I didn’t get that. I felt that the build up was all a bit slow and it became rather annoying to hear them in the same placesand I just wanted to shove them in front of one another and be like ‘you guys, meet one another now!’

 My Rating:

It was okay

2 cups

 

 

 

 

emmaTitle: Emma Hearts LA
Author: Keris Stainton
Publication Date: 7th June 2012 (Orchard Books)
Pages: 256
Genre: Romance
Format: Paperback

Links to buy: |Amazon UK |  |Book Depository|  |Waterstones|

Emma’s not sure that LA’s for her, but when she accompanies her sister Bex to an audition, a chance meeting with a teen TV star starts to change her new sunshine lifestyle for the better… But what about Oscar, so far her only friend in LA, who’s turning out NOT to be the idiot she thought he was?

Soon Emma begins to find herself torn between two boys and reconsidering her entire future.

Maybe LA’s not that bad after all. [Goodreads]

Onto the next book and I loved this one. Maybe it was because I read this one first, I expected Jessie’s to be narrated the same way, but I thought this one was full of humour and lots and lots of love. To be precise, we have two very acceptable love interests to choose from! The contrast between them was evident, Oscar, the geeky boy from back home who has a new found confidence and Alex, the one that everyone dreams of going out with because he is the famous actor. Another fun contrast was between Emma and her sister, Bex, who was all in with the move to LA. She dreams big, wants to see her name in lights and all that jazz, whilst it’s almost like Emma is getting dragged round after her. But we all know who’s the luckiest out of the two of them 😛

I loved reading the parts where Emma was comparing the ‘old’ Oscar to the ‘new’ Oscar because their relationship felt more sentimental and valuable compared to Alex, who will always there to sweep anyone off their feet.

This book is light-hearted, easy to read and lots of fun. Although very predictable at times.

My Rating:

I liked it

3 cup

Leave a Reply

