Review: The Coldest Girl in Coldtown by Holly Black


coldest girlTitle:
The Coldest Girl in Coldtwon
Author: Holly Black
Publication Date: 3rd September 2013 (Indigo)
Pages: 419
Genre: Fantasy
Format: Paperback

Links to buy: |Waterstones| |Amazon UK|  |Book Depository|

Tana lives in a world where walled cities called Coldtowns exist. In them, quarantined monsters and humans mingle in a decadently bloody mix of predator and prey. The only problem is, once you pass through Coldtown’s gates, you can never leave.

One morning, after a perfectly ordinary party, Tana wakes up surrounded by corpses. The only other survivors of this massacre are her exasperatingly endearing ex-boyfriend, infected and on the edge, and a mysterious boy burdened with a terrible secret. Shaken and determined, Tana enters a race against the clock to save the three of them the only way she knows how: by going straight to the wicked, opulent heart of Coldtown itself. [Goodreads]

I’ve heard amazing things about The Coldest Girl in Coldtown  but was never going to pick this book up. It was only at YALC when I was queuing for Holly Black (already standing with six of her books) that I just thought, ‘why now?’ I have judged this book by it’s cover and title. To me, it didn’t read off as a very good book. I read The White Cat series and loved it but this one just didn’t seem of interest. But as I settled down to it one evening (one very cold evening – it seemed fitting) I was surprised.

The seemingly normal party gets turned upside down when Tana wakes up in the morning surrounded by dead bodies sprawled on the floor. Is it luck or misfortune when she finds the only people who’ve also made it out alive is her ex, Aiden and a vampire boy? Together, Tana, Aiden and Gavriel make their journey to Coldtown and the events that happen within aren’t as smooth as they would of liked.

This book had more action than I thought it would and as the book progressed it also became darker. The narration bounces from the present and the past which works really well with the book as we start to understand the characters more, without any of the other characters actually knowing. The characters were really likeable and there isn’t really anyone who I completely detest – I was intrigued by all of them!

I have a feeling I’ll be picking this book up again to reread sometime!

My Rating:

I really liked it

4 cup

3 thoughts on “Review: The Coldest Girl in Coldtown by Holly Black

  1. I’ve seen this book mentioned on a few blogs and it’s on my TBR list. I agree that the cover doesn’t look super appealing. I haven’t read anything by Holly Black yet, do you think this is a good place to start?

    • Yeah, I definitely think if you’re going to read a Black book, The Coldest Girl in Coldtown is the one to read. Especially because this is a stand alone whereas her others like Thithe and The Curse Workers are trilogies 🙂 Thanks for reading my post!! 😀 x

Leave a Reply

