Review: Banished by Liz De Jager


banishedTitle:
 Banished
Author: Liz De Jager
Publication Date: 27th February 2014 (Tor UK)
Pages: 400
Genre: Fantasy
Format: Paperback

Links to buy: |Waterstones| |Amazon UK|  |Book Depository|

Sworn to protect, honour and slay. Because chaos won’t banish itself

Kit is proud to be a Blackhart, now she’s encountered her unorthodox cousins and their strange lives. And her home-schooling now includes spells, fighting enemy fae and using ancient weapons. But it’s not until she rescues a rather handsome fae prince, fighting for his life on the edge of Blackhart Manor, that her training really kicks in. With her family away on various missions, Kit must protect Prince Thorn, rely on new friends and use her own unfamiliar magic to stay ahead of Thorn’s enemies. As things go from bad to apocalyptic, fae battle fae in a war that threatens to spill into the human world. Then Kit pits herself against the Elder Gods themselves – it’s that or lose everyone she’s learnt to love. [Goodreads]

This book had everything I enjoy about UKYA books: the familiar surroundings, the non-stop action and the awesome use of sarcasm! Along with the beautiful cover, which I adore, I became completely obsessed over what Kit was going to do next.

The plot is absolutely packed with lots of good twists, yet nothing seemed to be missing, which is amazing in a 4oo page book with so much going on! I loved the small sections within the chapters that brought us away from Kit and showed us other scenes with characters we’d not yet met, hinting that there’d be some sort of crossover later on. Furthermore, when these encounters did happen, they didn’t disappoint as I mentally started cheering on Kit in every duel. I also loved the idea of having the little definitions before the beginning of some chapters which would later pop up.

I wouldn’t even call myself a fantasy reader but this book has every fantasy creature I could think of: faeries, trolls, sorcerers and the thing I’ve heard the most aboutthe dragon! It carried the generic plot of a character going on an epic quest/journey, with their travels covering a lot of ground.

The highlight of this book were three characters in particular. For many who have read this book, it may be obvious, but they are Kit, Thorn and Aiden. I loved how strong-headed Kit was and, especially nearer the end of the book, she showed her strength (maybe some stupidity, depending on how you see it). Prince Thorn, oh Prince Thorn. I adored all his dialogue and with the contrast in the way he spoke to everyone else. The more I read, the more I was completely charmed by everything that he said.  Aiden was the ‘comedy relief’ throughout the book  with his sarcastic lines teasing Kit and Thorn. That was enough for him to be one of my favourite characters.

Luckily, the ‘1’ that is so nicely placed on the spine as well as the beautiful ending, points out that we still get more from Kit, Thorn, Aiden and everyone else. This isn’t the end of them yet and I can’t wait!

My Rating:

I really liked it

4 cup

One thought on “Review: Banished by Liz De Jager

  1. I LOVED this book. And I love Liz even more for writing it. Can’t wait for the next ones to come out, and for anything else Liz writes! Such a great book. I really loved the spin on the dragon, making it quite different. Don’t want to say too much in case of spoilers but hopefully you’ll know what I mean!

Leave a Reply

