The Adventures of Sabrina Yam #2

Hahaha, using that cliché title again that I internally told myself not to use but it fits with the theme of writing. This post will be like the last, an almost diary like format and give a rambling update as found out yesterday that it’s best not to leave everything unchecked for a while, even with the scheduled posts.

So on the 14th September, I moved into my new home…. my flat on campus at Brunel University. It was a hectic move going back and forth from the car to my room to ensure everything was delivered.

This week is then Freshers Week and that said you should understand how crazy it is. In my spare time, I’ve been exploring Uxbridge and gathering my bearings with where the food shops are, as well as noting there is a Waterstones and The Works (ACE!). I’ve walked to town three times this week to gather my bearings and I still feel like I haven’t explored it fully!

ON TOP OF THIS, my evenings are busy busy busy. To be honest, I’ve only gone clubbing twice but the other nights are dedicated to movie and gaming nights with two of my other flatmates. I was worried about being the only one who wouldn’t leave to go to clubs so it’s a relief to have them – I don’t know what it’ll be like when we all start studying but I hope we can keep it up.

(An extra update because I didn’t post this the week that I should of!)

It’s now the first week of lectures and seminars and everything starting. It’s the second day and I’ve already got homework: both reading and writing. I shouldn’t be surprised because I knew what I was putting myself through yet I forgot how difficult it’d be writing on demand. Reading on demand is also something I hate because there’s no time to enjoy whatever I reading. But I guess that’s the way it’s going to be.

I have taken a small collection of my YA books with me, but I have  no idea when I’ll be able to pick them up. I don’t want to pressure myself into it, yet I hate the fact that I have to leave this blog blank. It’s difficult.

So, what to expect? I’ll be drifting in and out I guess. I am excited though because I get to do a presentation focusing on the dialogue in The Catcher in the Rye and The Kite Runner – both books I’ve wanted to read for so long!! So a possible review for that to come. Who knows? I might share some of the lecture hall discussions and put it up here for debate!

Hope everyone is doing well! I miss you all and I do feel a bit left behind because I’m not involved as much anymore 😦
Until next time,

Sabrina x

2 thoughts on “The Adventures of Sabrina Yam #2

  1. It sounds fabulous that you’re settling in! Enjoy life, girl! x

    I can’t wait to hear what you think of The Catcher in the Rye. It’s so controversial, that one. Personally, I quite like it. And that’s with reading it a multitude of times and even taking it apart for analysis. If a book can still be enjoyable after studying it then I say that’s a keeper!

    • Thank you Jess! I’m studying them for the use of dialogue, so hopefully I won’t hate it too much after I finish it! But yes, I’ve heard all about the controversy to do with it, which is what excites me the most about finally getting to read it 😀

      Thanks for reading my post and commenting 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

