Review: Where Rainbows End by Cecelia Ahern

714985Title: Where Rainbows End
Author: Cecelia Ahern
Publication Date: 8th November 2004 (HarperCollins)
Pages: 585
Genre: Romance
Format: Paperback

Links to buy: |Waterstones| |Amazon UK|  |Book Depository|

From naughty children to rebellious teenagers, Rosie and Alex have stuck by each other through thick and thin. But just as they’re discovering the joys of teenage nights on the town and dating disasters, they’re separated. Alex’s family move from Dublin to America – and Alex goes with them. For good.

Rosie’s lost without him. But on the eve of her departure to join Alex in Boston, Rosie gets news that will change her life forever – and keep her at home in Ireland.

Their magical connection sees them through the ups and downs of each others lives, but neither of them knows whether their friendship can survive the years and miles – or new relationships. And at the back of Rosie’s mind is whether they were meant to be more than just good friends all along. Misunderstandings, circumstances and sheer bad luck have kept them apart, but when presented with the ultimate opportunity, will they gamble everything for true love? [Goodreads]

The fim ‘Love, Rosie’ only being a few days away from release, I thought it was a suitable time to pick up the book. I’ve read The Gift and Thanks for the Memories by Ahern and I really enjoyed them so I knew her style of story, yet Where Rainbows End surprised me!

The first thing that struck me about this book was the layout. The way that the story is told is through a series of notes, instant messages, emails and letters. At first, I found it really odd, however as I read on the emails and letters became longer and it flowed much better than in the first instant. But the messaging wasn’t just with Alex and Rosie, which I thought was the best part of the book, we also got a chance to read about their relationship with their family and friends, and in some cases, revealing their feelings they hid from one another. Due to the way the book was written, I found myself getting through the book much quicker than typically thick books like this one!

I did not know much about Where Rainbows End other than the things that are mentioned in the trailer. There was actually a hell of a lot more drama than is reflected in the trailer (but I hope there is also some of this in the film – although from the trailer it doesn’t look like it spans across 50 years of Alex and Rosie’s life!). When I mean there’s A LOT OF DRAMA, I do mean it very very literally. A. Lot.

My favourite characters were Katie and Toby and I loved reading their character development. Their relationship is almost a reflection of Rosie and Alex when they were younger and, really, how theirs should have gone if all their circumstances didn’t drag them away from one another. The highlight for me was when reading their instant messaging talk and how it changed at certain ages, that really did reflect how younger generation lingo (even I had that phase where I began abbreviating and using single letters for words etc.)

My only complaint is the ending. Expected, yes, after all it is a romance, but it didn’t sit too well with me. Maybe it was the fact that it was all just too easy in the end? Or maybe the journey between Rosie and Alex tired me out I couldn’t be bothered with them any more? Whatever it was, the ending unsatisfied me.

My Rating:

I really liked it

4 cup

One thought on “Review: Where Rainbows End by Cecelia Ahern

  1. I read Love, Rosie last week and really enjoyed it but the ending did leave me feeling a little underwhelmed. I think I expected a little bit more from it, maybe some more detail about what happened next.

Leave a Reply

