Review: Legend by Marie Lu

 

17258061Title: Legend
Author: Marie Lu
Publication Date: 2nd Feburary 2012 (Penguin)
Pages: 295
Genre: Dystopian
Format: Paperback

Links to buy: |Waterstones| |Amazon UK|  |Book Depository|

What was once the western United States is now home to the Republic, a nation perpetually at war with its neighbors.

Born into an elite family in one of the Republic’s wealthiest districts, fifteen-year-old June is a prodigy being groomed for success in the Republic’s highest military circles.

Born into the slums, fifteen-year-old Day is the country’s most wanted criminal. But his motives may not be as malicious as they seem.

From very different worlds, June and Day have no reason to cross paths – until the day June’s brother, Metias, is murdered and Day becomes the prime suspect.
Caught in the ultimate game of cat and mouse, Day is in a race for his family’s survival, while June seeks to avenge Metias’s death. But in a shocking turn of events, the two uncover the truth of what has really brought them together, and the sinister lengths their country will go to keep its secrets. [Goodreads]

FINALLY! My friend has been nagging me to read this series for the longest time, going on about how she “hopes the characters are living happy lives” and what not. I bought this book last year and tried to pick it up on several occasions but was never in the mood. FINALLY, I am here saying that, yes, I have read it and I can also now review it!

This read for me was really quick. I found it quite straight forward with the plot and quite predictable. But then this didn’t stop me from enjoying the book!

Something that bothered me about the characters was the fact that they were too perfect for me. After finishing the book, I found myself questioning what was missing. Everything in this book was too perfectly placed. Yes, okay, it is written in a structure to ensure it runs smoothly, but I felt that Legend ran too smoothly. The coincidence of the meeting of Day and June and then June being this capable being that got a perfect score on her trail. She is like the younger and female version of Sherlock Holmes, which is cool, yet all too perfect. Something about this bugged me and I felt that we were missing some sort of gritty flaw.

Expanding on the ‘coolness’ of June’s Sherlock Holmes readings, the pages I most enjoyed were very similar to a scene that was in the film with Robert Downey Jr. It was when June comes across a Skiz fight. I thought this particular scene interested me the most, especially because of the way it was shown narratively, as we got a view point from someone looking above and another down below in the action.

The romance for me was okay. ‘Okay’ in that we all know about it before we read the book, the fact that there is something that will tear them apart. Just okay. Don’t get me wrong there are definitely some cute moments but then there were times when I thought that hardly anytime has passed at all. Some naivety seemed to be expressed. And there was a feel for a Romeo and Juliet plot line.

Reading back over this is seems all very negative but I did enjoy it!! I didn’t think it was the best start of a series but reminded me of the Under The Never Sky with the predictability. Even so, I will be picking up the rest of the series and I can’t wait to see what happens to June and Day!

My Rating:

I liked it

3 cup

One thought on “Review: Legend by Marie Lu

Leave a Reply

