Books and Holidays

Have you ever read a book and thought, ‘I really want to go there’?

I know I’ve had that so many times whilst reading a book. Since it’s the holidays now, I thought it’d be nice to share my most wanted places I want to go to all because of books that I’ve read. I’ve gone with REAL places in the world rather than the fictional places.

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins – Paris
How could you not read this and want to go to Paris? I’ve been with school and with family but it’s not the same after reading Anna and the French Kiss. I’ve wanted to go back so badly and go to all the spots mentioned in the book. Of course, at every check point, I’d also make sure I get a selfie so I can prove to people I’ve been to that certain point! Maybe I’d find an Étienne St Clair out there too 😉

Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares by David Levithan and Rachel Cohn – New York
New York at Christmas. The only thing I would be missing when going over there would be a red moleskin notebookand a male love interest. I have also been to New York before, and NEVER WENT TO THE STRAND BOOKSTORE! *facepalms*

I love the way the book maintains the festive feel and I’d love to experience Christmas in another country because I’ve never experienced it anywhere but at in the UK…at home…

Stolen by Lucy Christopher – Australia
It has been absolutely years since I read Stolen and half of what I remember about this book is the setting. The desert. The sights and soundsthe taste. I can’t stand the heat. Absolutely hate it, can’t deal with the heat in the UK, can’t deal with the heat in Hong Kong, just cannot deal with it. Yet, I want to go to Australia to experience the heat in the desert. Crazy right? A book makes me want to experience something I loathe.

Flat Out Love by Jessica Park – Boston & MIT
This book has made me obsessed. I am obsessed with the book in general but the great thing about Flat Out Love is that it uses real life places. It has a real life setting.

Okay, so MIT is mentioned very lightly and probably only once or twice but I am all over it. MIT! MIT! There was a period where I was 100% determined to get a MIT college hoodie because, why the hell not? But that dream was quickly crushed when I went onto their website to find they only delivered to places in the USA! I can dream, I can dream.

 Do you have any places you’ve always wanted to go to since reading a book? I’d love to hear where you’d love to visit, leave a comment below!

4 thoughts on “Books and Holidays

    • Any book in America makes me want to go to America…which is basically every book I read xD Thanks for checking out my post Rosie 😀 x

  1. I’m sorry but what is this Book of Dares thing and why is it set during Christmas and why don’t I know about it??? That would have been crucial information to know when I was picking out a christmas book haaha But now I know! 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

