Review: Biggest Flirts by Jennifer Echols

18689821Title: Biggest Flirts (The Superlatives #1)
Author: Jennifer Echols
Publication Date: 20th May 2014 (Simon Pulse)
Pages: 336
Genre: Romance
Format: Hardback

Links to buy: |Amazon UK|  |Book Depository|

Tia and Will’s lives get flipped upside down when they’re voted Yearbook’s Biggest Flirts in this sassy novel from the author of Endless Summer and The One That I Want.

Tia just wants to have fun. She’s worked hard to earn her reputation as the life of the party, and she’s ready for a carefree senior year of hanging out with friends and hooking up with cute boys. And her first order of business? New guy Will. She can’t get enough of his Midwestern accent and laidback swagger.

As the sparks start to fly, Will wants to get serious. Tia’s seen how caring too much has left her sisters heartbroken, and she isn’t interested in commitment. But pushing Will away drives him into the arms of another girl. Tia tells herself it’s no big deal…until the yearbook elections are announced. Getting voted Biggest Flirts with Will is, well, awkward. They may just be friends, but their chemistry is beginning to jeopardize Will’s new relationship—and causing Tia to reconsider her true feelings. What started as a lighthearted fling is about to get very complicated… [Goodreads]

Echols is one of my favourite authors. I love the complexity of her characters and the way the main characters always work off one another. Yet this book seemed to throw away everything that I loved about her work. The writing style seemed to have flipped since I last read her work and it’d become quite one sided.

Meet Tia. She likes Will. Will is this new ‘hot’ guy who’s just moved in. Will moved from Minnesota. Will has one ear pierced. Will played hockey. Tia can’t be with Will because she says so. Will looks like this, he looks like that, he eats this and looks so damn hot! – Had enough yet? Yeah me too. This happened throughout the book and it drove me crazy!! Every page consisted with Will’s name appearing one way or another. It got to the stage where I was wondering if Tia actually had any brain cells that function on anything other than Will (which we know she does because it is mentioned but not really shown).

I really thought the idea of the plot would be fun and light like some of Echols’ other books: The One That I Want and Endless Summer, but it was far from that. I sensed some vibes coming from The One That I Want and Major Crush with being in a band and the “All American High School” feel,  but the characters just irritated me!

I did want some sort of sub-plot to roll in at some stage as well, which I think would of helped break up all the “obsession” that Tia had, and I think that there were elements of this but not significant enough.

It was okay, but I won’t recommend it as her best work.

My Rating:

It was okay

2 cups

Leave a Reply

