Review: Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson

sinceTitle: Since You’ve Been Gone
Author: Morgan Matson
Publication Date3rd July 2014 (Simon & Schuster)
Pages: 449
Genre: Contemporary
Format: Paperback

Links to buy: |Amazon UK| |Waterstones|  |Book Depository|

Emily didn’t go to parties, she barely talked to guys, and she didn’t do anything crazy. Enter Sloane, social tornado and the best kind of best friend—someone who yanks you out of your shell.

But right before what should have been an epic summer, Sloane just…disappears. No note. No calls. No texts. No Sloane. There’s just a random to-do list with thirteen bizarre tasks that Emily would never try. But what if they can lead her to Sloane?

Apple picking at night? Okay, easy enough.

Dance until dawn? Sure. Why not?

Kiss a stranger? Wait…what?

Getting through Sloane’s list will mean a lot of firsts, and with a whole summer ahead of her—and with the unexpected help of the handsome Frank Porter—who knows what she’ll find.

Go Skinny Dipping? Um… [Goodreads]

A mix of Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares and Dessens’ The Truth About ForeverSince You’ve Been Gone follows Emily filling her summer with a to-do list that her best friend left her after she disappeared.

I have been wanting to read Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour since the day I set my eyes on the cover. I know, I shouldn’t just a book by it’s cover, but that’s what has always stuck with me. I did not, however, take in the author name until I found myself picking up Since You’ve Been Gone. It has definitely left me excited to pick up her older books (but I do wish I read them beforehand!).

I loved the friendships in this novel. From Sloane and Emily to Emily, Dawn, Frank and Matthew. Sloane’s disappearance leaves Emily completely lost. With no explanation, she doesn’t know how to handle the vanishing. But then the list appears through her door and the idea sparks, what if completing the list ends with finding Sloane? As Emily makes new friends, we also get an insight to her adventures with Sloane. The best part of this novel is that the list becomes a group mission that draws everyone closer.  Full of cheers and laughter that every friendship should have.

A great adventure always starts with a list of things to do that we’d never dream of doing. There were two things I loved about this list. Firstly, it’s lots of fun! No doubt any book with a list of to do’s equal summer fun. Secondly, Emily coming out of her shell. From the romance to the foreshadowing of her parent’s play, this book makes a super fun and cute Summer read. I will definitely be picking it up again when Summer hits! 🙂

My rating:
I really liked it

4 cup

 

Leave a Reply

