Review: Half Bad by Sally Green

18621194Title: Half Bad (Half Bad #1)
Author: Sally Green
Publication Date: 27th March 2014 (Penguin)
Pages: 380
Genre: Fantasy
Format: Paperback

Links to buy: |Amazon UK| |Waterstones|  |Book Depository|

Wanted by no one.
Hunted by everyone.

Sixteen-year-old Nathan lives in a cage: beaten, shackled, trained to kill. In a modern-day England where two warring factions of witches live amongst humans, Nathan is an abomination, the illegitimate son of the world’s most terrifying and violent witch, Marcus. Nathan’s only hope for survival is to escape his captors, track down Marcus, and receive the three gifts that will bring him into his own magical powers—before it’s too late. But how can Nathan find his father when there is no one safe to trust, not even family, not even the girl he loves?

Half Bad is an international sensation and the start of a brilliant trilogy: a gripping tale of alienation and the indomitable will to survive. [Goodreads]

Half Bad is a book that I’ve heard nothing but good reviews about. I’ve had the book on my shelf for a long time and with Half Wild now out, I thought that it was time I picked this book up.

I’m going to start by saying that I am a little stuck on what to write about this book. Overall, yes, I did enjoy it but I don’t seem to have too an opinion about it, which is probably where I’m struggling.

It was a bit slower than I thought it would be. There’s a lot of context that is covered during the beginning of the book. I was surprised to read the journey and experience of Nathan’s life from when he was very young to when he is a teenager. The reader is able to grow up with Nathan and see what it’s like to not fit in, as a Half Code which is a half white and half black witch. What Green has done well is give the reader a very well crafted history of the witch world, however, there was a stage where I found it to be a bit boring. The rules are constantly drummed in and the reports that were received about Nathan became of little interest to me.

The second half of the novel was probably the part where I started to enjoy myself a bit more. It was where the story ventured out and everything picked up very quickly, which was nice after a slower beginning. Overall, there wasn’t too much action that happened until the last few pages and there was, again, a bit of repetition during the build up to this period.

I wasn’t blown away, however, I probably will pick up the next book in the series because I’m curious to see what will happen with Nathan, as Half Bad has a great set up to lead into the next novel, Half Wild.

My rating:

It was okay

2 cups

Leave a Reply

