Hate Education but Love Learning

This is a bit of a peculiar post and, to be honest, I have no clue where this post will lead me. (Let’s just quickly state that everything will all be revolving around my experience with education so far). Someone told me that they hated education but loved learning. I didn’t really think of it that much when they said it, but with the exam period coming up for many people, and with my last piece of coursework needing to be handed in (this post will probably be up two weeks after I’ve handed in my coursework), the phrase came back to me.

‘Hate education but love learning? How can that be?’ was my initial reaction. Yet, suddenly, I find myself completely agreeing with that phrase.

I love learning.

There, I admitted it. Whether it’s about the publishing industry, techniques that I can develop and then use in my writing or learning about different crafts. General things that I find interesting, I love learning about. During GCSEs, I loved maths. Loved the idea that we could use all these different equations to solve a problem and use algebra to find the value of x. I sound utterly crazy, but then it’s true for you too, right? With your favourite subject at school? Another for me was media. I studied media for four years before going to uni to study creative writing, which was a bitter sweet ending.

Taking ourselves away from classes, learning is everything. There’s that beautiful cliché ‘you learn something new everyday’, which is true. No matter how big or small. Just so we can look and compare, Google says learning is:

‘the acquisition of knowledge or skills through study, experience, or being taught.’

I hate education.

Google dictionary tells us that education is:

‘the process of receiving or giving systematic instruction, especially at a school or university.’

Good ‘ole reliable Wiki says education is:

‘in its general sense is a form of learning in which the knowledge, skills, values, beliefs and habits of a group of people are transferred from one generation to the next through storytelling, discussion, teaching, training, or research. Education may also include informal transmission of such information from one human being to another.’

Dictionary.com gives us a lovely list:

  1.  The act or process of imparting or acquiring general knowledge, developing the powers of reasoning and judgment, and generally of preparing oneself or others intellectually formature life.
  2.  The act or process of imparting or acquiring particular knowledge or skills, as for a profession.
  3. degree, level, or kind of schooling: a university education.
  4. The result produced by instruction, training, or study: to show one’s education.

On Gov.uk, The Department for Education states it is:

‘responsible for education and children’s services in England. We work to achieve a highly educated society in which opportunity is equal for children and young people, no matter what their background or family circumstances.’

‘Yeah, but doesn’t everyone hate education?’ ‘I hate school too, I hate learning.’

We get put into the system of education as soon as we can walk and talk. We go to nursery school, primary school, secondary school and then, if we choose to, we go college and then fight to get into uni. For what? ‘A better education.’

Education has become the focal point of how we get a job. People rely on education to get them that step further in life because it looks good on the CV. And I think this is where my hate starts. I’ve been to the compulsory high school talks where they told us if there was someone with a degree and someone without, they would take the person with a degree. Why? Because they have the discipline that others lack because they have not got a degree. Of course, that is wrong. I’ve learnt so much more from experiences through events and getting more involved in the things that I take interest in more than through education. I’ve learnt and believe that enthusiasm can get you that much further.

Secondly, education is a test for how smart people are at particular core subjects. Everyone is smart, but everyone is smart in different ways. So yes, I think this is incredibly unfair because comparisons start to happen. Among this, everything is so frustratingly subjective. Moreover, studying any sort of art form is probably where everything comes down to preference more than anything else. You show your work to one person, they say they love it and then you show it to someone else and they rip it apart. It’s heartbreaking and I’ve had my fair share. I’m that person who spends hours on a piece of work and still gets the same mark as someone who does it a few hours before the hand in. Grrr!

This isn’t the way we should be getting further in life. We shouldn’t be labelled with a grade that makes or breaks us. It’s horrible. It’s the root of where we start to compare ourselves with others. I am guilty of still comparing myself and I can’t help it. But it’s true that throughout education, we’re comparing and trying to get what others are getting and when we don’t, we don’t feel good enough.

So I hate education but love learning.

Thank you for taking your time to read this post 🙂

Let me know what you think in the comments below and good luck to everyone who has exams!

 

Leave a Reply

