Review: Altered by Jennifer Rush

10859509Title: Altered (Altered #1)
Author: Jennifer Rush
Publication Date: 1st January 2014 (Little Brown Books)
Pages: 323
Genre: Dystopian
Format: Hardback

Links to buy: Papperback |Amazon UK| |Book Depository|

They were made to forget. But they’ll never forgive.
Everything about Anna’s life is a secret. Her father works for the Branch, at the helm of its latest project: monitoring and administering treatments to the four genetically altered boys in the lab below their farmhouse. There’s Nick, solemn and brooding; Cas, light-hearted and playful; Trev, smart and caring; and Sam . . . who’s stolen Anna’s heart.

When the Branch decides it’s time to take the boys, Sam stages an escape. Anna’s father pushes her to go with them, making Sam promise to keep her away from the Branch, at all costs.
On the run, with her father’s warning in her head, Anna begins to doubt everything she thought she knew about herself. She soon discovers that she and Sam are connected in more ways than either of them expected. And if they’re both going to survive, they must piece together the clues of their past before the Branch catches up to them and steals it all away. [Goodreads]

I have been eyeing this book since it came out. I totally judged this book by it’s cover, but how could I not? The shirtless guy’s back and the tree branches that climb up to his shoulders, I mean, I think it’s a beautiful cover. . . and now I have *that* cover!!

Okay, so I love this book. From the very beginning, I felt everything that Anna felt. She’s a down to earth character, even amongst all the secrets that were being kept from her, and I love that even with that, she still has the typical challenges. The boys are also a lot of fun. The set up of the male leads basically make us love Trev, Cas and Sam… And then Nick – meh, not so much. But I love the dynamic and relationship between everyone. It felt they were a tight knit family, just because of how well they know each other, their teasing and also their disagreements but then forgiveness. Out of the four boys, the characters that stood out the most for me were Cas and Sam. I love Cas’s one liners and he’s used a lot to lift up the mood whenever something becomes too serious and then Sam is the dominant male who’s mind is constantly ticking. The best way to put it is Sam would be your typical ‘superhero’ male lead and with that there are also the ‘superhero issues’ – the whole secretive and trusting issues.

The read of this book was really easy, which is surprising given the amount of information that is uncovered throughout the book. There is a lot of telling rather than showing, which is the first time that I’ve actually noticed it in any novel (maybe it’s my creative writing mind now talking). I liked the fact that they were constantly moving, which is probably why there was so much telling, but it makes the book much more exciting. There is a small problem I have to pick at, which is the convenient ‘think hard and you’ll remember’ strategy. When a character was asked to remember something specific and to think much harder than before, a second later they’d have the answer. I think this happened around three times throughout the novel, and although I could see it’s convenience, it was a bit too perfect for me.

There’s quite a few twists in this book but there is one specific twist that made me quite unsettled… and the odd thing was, was that no one in the book seemed all too fazed by it, which made me feel a bit worse…

My rating:
I really liked it

4 cup

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

