Review: Crown of Midnight (Glass of Throne #2) by Sarah J Maas

17670709Title: Crown of Midnight (Glass of Throne #2)
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Publication Date: 15th August 2013 (Bloomsbury Children)
Pages: 418
Genre: Fantasy
Format: Paperback

Links to buy: |Amazon UK| |Waterstones|  |Book Depository|

Crowned by Evil.
Bound by Duty.
Divided by Love.

Celaena Sardothien, royal assassin, is the King of Adarlan’s deadliest weapon. She must win her freedom through his enemies’ blood – but she cannot bear to kill for the crown. And every death Celaena fakes, every lie she tells, put those she loves at risk.

Torn between her two protectors – a captain and a prince – and battling a dark force far greater than the king, Celaena must decide what she will fight for: her liberty, her heart or the fate of a kingdom… [Goodreads]

If you’re wondering my thoughts on Throne of Glass, for some odd reason, I didn’t write a novel for that book. The way I work, I write a review a day or two after I finish a book. It enables me to put down all my fresh thoughts as well as it being an honest review of everything I thought when I was reading it. Due to this, I won’t be writing a review for the Throne of Glass, however, will happily write one for the next few novels. (I rated it 4 stars on Goodreads).

I was told way before starting this book that Crown of Midnight was supposed to completely top Throne of Glass, but I was a little disappointed when I found myself rating it lower than Throne of Glass. At the end of Throne of Glass, I felt so empowered. Empowered because Celaena didn’t pick Dorian or Chaol, she picked neither and she was so fierce and awesome.

Celaena is yet again super super fierce in Crown of Midnight. I love watching her grow and she surprised me hugely throughout the book. Unlike Throne of Glass, the novel branched out with more subplots and a lot more twists. Dorian has his own complications and we got to see Chaol a lot more, which I really loved. It was a real insight into their own lives as an individual rather than being an attachment to Celaena. Dorian was a bit of a bother for me, and although he’s the Prince, I’ve found him to become this ‘third wheel’. Three has always been a crowd, right? His involvement was quite small and it was a huge flip compared to what we read in the first novel and it almost felt like Maas was struggling to balance Celeana, Dorian and Chaol’s narrations.

But even with this rocky opinioned book, it hasn’t put me off the series. I’m excited to read the Heir of Fire.

My rating:
I liked it

3 cup

 

Leave a Reply

