Review: Epic Fail by Claire LaZebrik

9266776Title: Epic Fail
Author: Claire LaZebrik
Publication Date: 2nd August 2011 (HarperTeen)
Pages: 295
Genre: Romance
Format: Paperback

Links to buy: |Amazon UK| |Waterstones|  |Book Depository|

At Coral Tree Prep in Los Angeles, who your parents are can make or break you. Case in point:

– As the son of Hollywood royalty, Derek Edwards is pretty much prince of the school–not that he deigns to acknowledge many of his loyal subjects.
– As the daughter of the new principal, Elise Benton isn’t exactly on everyone’s must-sit-next-to-at-lunch list.

When Elise’s beautiful sister catches the eye of the prince’s best friend, Elise gets to spend a lot of time with Derek, making her the envy of every girl on campus. Except she refuses to fall for any of his rare smiles and instead warms up to his enemy, the surprisingly charming social outcast Webster Grant. But in this hilarious tale of fitting in and flirting, not all snubs are undeserved, not all celebrity brats are bratty, and pride and prejudice can get in the way of true love for only so long. [Goodreads]

Epic Fail is essentially a modern high school twist on the classic Pride and Prejudice. I admit, I haven’t read Pride and Prejudice but I’ve watched the BBC TV adaptation multiple times with my mum so I do know the characters and personalities well enough.

It did stick with the main storyline throughout the novel and it did leave me a little disappointed because nothing came as a surprise. It’s also not hard to distinguish who each of the characters are as most of them hold the same beginning letter in their name. The main focus for the sisters were Elise, Jules and Layla. There was a mention of their youngest sister Kaitlyn at the very beginning, but once it was established they were a family of four sisters Kaitlyn was unheard of for the read of the novel. The relationship between the sisters was what I’d imagined it to be, yet a little odd to me. I understand how Lizzy and Jane in Pride and Prejudice are always together and super close but when it transfered over into the high school situation in Epic Fail it is questionable if they would be together all the time during their breaks and lunch. I mean, me and my sister are close, there was a moment in time when we were in secondary school together but we didn’t merge together. I guess it serves the purpose of the plot more than anything.

Jules and Chase were everything I expected from them and Chase was a great Bingley (or as I call him “Smiley” because he’s always so damn happy in the TV show).

Derek didn’t play so well in this novel, which is a shame because he is supposed to be the star of the book, right? The balance between the cold and the friendly side of him was completely off, especially early on where I had nothing to grasp on (is it like this in the Pride and Prejudice novel with Darcy??). It was only at the end where we got to really see what he is like romantically, which is a huge shame because I felt this was the best bit of LaZebrik’s writing. Everything about the last section of the novel felt more natural and flowed so much better than the rest of the book. It’s such a shame it only took up, like, only one quarter of the whole thing.

My rating:

I liked it

3 cup

Leave a Reply

