Books and Food

There are two things I love: books and food. So what’s better when you read a book that talks about food that you want to go out and eat? Just like some of my other ‘Book and..’ posts, I have compiled a small list of places or food that I want to try having read about them in particular novels!

The One That I Want by Jennifer Echols – Varsity
(Gemma, Addison, Max and Carter take a break at Varsity to grab something to eat. Gemma, the main protagonist, orders a chicken sandwich.)
I’ve actually been to Atlanta. I’ve been to Atlanta and my relatives told us about Varsity but for some crazy reason we never went. What. A. Mistake. Varsity is a real place in Atlanta, known for their ‘ultra greasey food’ – the greasier the better though right? Take me back!

Along For The Ride by Sarah Dessen – Waffle House
(Eli takes Auden to eat waffles!! And according to the description, they are amazing!!)
Along For The Ride is probably my second favourite Dessen book. Although they don’t go to The Waffle House, I’ve wanted to go to a waffle place in America since reading this book. Moreover, eat a waffle with something salty (ie with bacon or chicken etc). I remember when my family were driving down the motorway to Florida, we’d pass a waffle house sitting at the side of the road. I won’t lie, it totally crushed me when my family wouldn’t pull over so we could go in.

Divergent by Veronica Roth – Dauntless cake
Chocolate cake? How can I refuse!

Along For The Ride by Sarah Dessen – Twizzlers
(When Auden takes a stop at the Gas/Gro)
Ah. Twizzlers. They’re basically like Red Vines aren’t they? Or can I assume that? I don’t know but Twizzlers are on the list. A character goes to the gas-gro and meets two people. One of which picks up a packet of Twizzlers. That’s it. I want.

Split By a Kiss by Luisa Plaja – Banana Split
(On a date, Josie orders a Banna split. It’s supposedly huge!)
I have never tried a banana split. It’s one of those things that I know of, but have never tried. I think the enormity of this specific banana split is the reason why I remember it so much!

The One That I Want by Jennifer Echols – Peach Cobbler
(Gemma speaks about how her mum would make peach cobbler for her to eat)
Guilty! Another food item from the same author and the same book but I can’t help it!! Firstly, I’ve never heard of a cobbler before reading this book but after I googled it, I became obsessed. I want to try one! Preferably a sweet cobbler, but if it’s peach, well then, that’s just a bonus!

Slammed by Colleen Hoover – Bolognase
(When there is family news that needs to be shared, bolognase is made)
Essentially, what we have here is a lasagne. That’s it. Lasagne. I want to eat lasagne…. No, but seriously, this dish is spoken about throughout the Slammed series and I want to try their version of it. Maybe it’s the name of it that changes it from lasagne, I don’t know, but I hope that when I (fictionally) eat it, nothing terrible happens.

Are there any meals in novels that you’ve ever wanted to try? Real or fictional – comment below!

Leave a Reply

