Series I Won’t Finish

Too many books, so little time. This is somewhat true when it comes down to series. Any book series has more of a commitment than a standalone and on top of that you’ve also got to make sure you remember everything in the pervious novel. There are so many that I forget about and don’t carry them on. No doubt that this won’t be the only ‘Series I won’t finish’ post, however I have collected five series that I thought I’d spotlight today!

Matched series (Matched, Crossed and Reached) by Ally Condie
I’d heard so much praise about this book beforehand and when it got round to reading it, I felt like the action and suspense was flat. It was so exciting to see something that we all love (books and reading and writing) are banned! I felt like it’d be something that I would be able to connect with instantly but nothing was there. The stakes didn’t seem enough for me, I read it comparing it a lot to the Delirium series by Lauren Oliver (which I love love love!). But yes, the danger lacked and I felt no threat – for that reason I didn’t see any point on carrying these books on.

The House of Night series (not even gounna bother listing the books in this series…there’s way too many!) by PC Cast and Kristin Cast
I think this series is still continuing…? But anyway, my attempts for this series slowly stopped.
I read an interview with PC and Kristin Cast the books and they said they’d be a eleven book series. If that wasn’t daunting enough (and the longest series I would have read if I continued), I was slowly losing interest. There were characters I no longer cared for and everything became one massive drag. No go for me.

Unearthly series (Unearthly, Hollowed and Boundless) by Cynthia Hand
I was excited to read this book because I rarely picked up a book based around angels and I thought it’d be lots of fun. It was a fun read – I think I gave it four stars on Goodreads, but I don’t feel like I need to read on.

Summer series (The Summer That I Turned Pretty, It’s Not Summer Without You and We’ll Always Have Summer) by Jenny Han
I am a huge romance reader and I’d heard tonnes of great and cute things about The Summer that I Turned Pretty but this book wasn’t for me. The clichés where too in your face especially with the push and pull of the love triangle. It really let me down…

Caster Chronicles series (Beautiful Creatures, Beautiful Darkness, Beautiful Chaos and Beautiful Redemption) by Kami Gracia and Margaret Stohl
Blaaaahhh! No. Just no. I can’t even. No. Awful. The first book essentially ends the way it starts, and I can’t be dealing with a repetition of the first novel because it was enough as it is. No no.

My question for you is: Are there any series that people flail over but you hate and won’t finish? How far did you get into the series before you stopped? Name and shame them people! 😀

One thought on “Series I Won’t Finish

  1. I read Matched a couple of years ago and didn’t like it either, so I definitely won’t finish it either. I’m not sure that I’ll finish The Mortal Instruments either. I really like the world and all of the characters, apart from Clary. She falls flat for me, and makes it a chore to read. I’ve read the first two books, and I don’t know if I will finish it.

Leave a Reply

