Mini Reviews: The Infernal Devices Trilogy by Cassandra Clare

With the build up to YALC, I thought it was about time I picked up the Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare (by the time you read this, YALC will actually have been and gone!!). I wasn’t a huge fan of the Mortal Instruments series and after reading the first three books, I stopped. I didn’t really find anything too special about the series but with the promise of The Infernal Devices being way better than the Mortal Instruments, I was really excited.

8700058Clockwork Angel {Goodreads}
Publication Date: 1st March 2011 (Walker Books)
Pages: 488
Genre: Fantasy
Format: Paperback

Links to buy: |Amazon UK| |Waterstones|  |Book Depository|

I have to admit it was a really disappointing start for me. I know, roughly, the characters. I knew there would be a love triangle and I also knew that many people preferred Will to Jem. Because of the vast amount of praise I’ve heard about this series, my expectations were up and beyond. Like a typical love triangle, we have the good guy and the bad guy in the situation. The only awkward thing about the good guy and bad guy options was that the bad guy really didn’t draw me in. Even when Tessa would describe her draw to this particular person, it didn’t click for me. I didn’t feel the connection, which did automatically make me prefer the other guy in comparison.

My rating

I liked it

3 cup

12788037Clockwork Prince {Goodreads}
Publication Date: 1st May 2012 (Walker Books)
Pages: 512
Genre: Fantasy
Format: Paperback

Links to buy: |Amazon UK| |Waterstones|  |Book Depository|

Clockwork Prince was a little bit better than Clockwork Angel but still not so great. Where the first focused on the introduction of Will and Jem, there was definitely that feeling that we were looking closer into their lives. It was great because we only just touched the surface of their past lives really, and in Clockwork Prince, everything was forced upon them and they almost had to share.

There was a part of the novel that I did kinda get spoiled for me so when the climatic part came round, it didn’t have a big impact on me. My theories for this book were wild, and in a way, when the twists did come I was a little disappointed. The twist was a kinda average…. mundane – You like what I did there?? 😉 My feelings for this book remained the same as the first. It was okay, nothing too shocking happened.

My rating

I liked it

3 cup

18335634

 

Clockwork Princess {Goodreads}
Publication Date: 5th September 2013 (Walker Books)
Pages: 567
Genre: Fantasy
Format: Paperback

Links to buy: |Amazon UK| |Waterstones|  |Book Depository|

The beginning of The Clockwork Princess was more or less the same as the previous two novels but then the last 200 pages or so was were there was a solid chunk that I can say I finally saw what everyone was raving about. I went into this book completely blind (as I heard if you’ve read The Mortal Instruments there is a cross over at some point) but I am more pleased that I did go in blind, especially when it was a situation that revolved around my favourite character.

The next paragraph has a few spoilers but for those who have read the series, highlight the paragraph below!

The most surprising thing about this series though is the amount of deaths. I was taken back about how ‘safe’ the book really was. Jessie’s death was definitely sadder than what I thought it’d be but: Every. Couple. Survived. Like that’s not right. I mean, that is way too much happiness and it makes all the fighting scenes seem too easy. But I will say that the sad ending does counteract it a little…just a little. Also, don’t tell me no one else was weirded by the fact that Tessa married Will and then married Jem (found this out on their wiki page) when Will died. It’s cute that she got to be with both but it’s still a bit weird, they’re best friends, blood brothers… Sharing is caring and everything but there is a limit, oversharing is creepy.

My rating

I really liked it

4 cup

One thought on “Mini Reviews: The Infernal Devices Trilogy by Cassandra Clare

Leave a Reply

