Review: Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

22369418Title: Red Queen
Author: Victoria Aveyard
Publication Date: 2nd July 2015 (Orion)
Pages: 320
Genre: Fantasy
Format: Paperback

Links to buy: |Amazon UK| |Waterstones|  |Book Depository|

This is a world divided by blood – red or silver.

The Reds are commoners, ruled by a Silver elite in possession of god-like superpowers. And to Mare Barrow, a seventeen-year-old Red girl from the poverty-stricken Stilts, it seems like nothing will ever change.

That is, until she finds herself working in the Silver Palace. Here, surrounded by the people she hates the most, Mare discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy the balance of power.

Fearful of Mare’s potential, the Silvers hide her in plain view, declaring her a long-lost Silver princess, now engaged to a Silver prince. Despite knowing that one misstep would mean her death, Mare works silently to help the Red Guard, a militant resistance group, and bring down the Silver regime.

But this is a world of betrayal and lies, and Mare has entered a dangerous dance – Reds against Silvers, prince against prince, and Mare against her own heart . . . [Goodreads]

This book came with a lot of hype when it first came out. The beautiful cover was also something that made it hard to forget. I was super excited to start this book but what it gave me was a predictable and familiar storyline.

Having finished the book, I look at it and see others within it. The Selection, The Hunger Games, throw in a bit of the X-Men storyline because why the hell not? Red Queen has drawn and taken every aspect of itself from other novels. Nothing stood out, I went through the book going ‘oh I’ve read something like this before’ or ‘this is like this book’. As a result of this, the “big twist” wasn’t even a twist to me. I guessed the twist about one quarter of the way through the novel!

There wasn’t much character development and, with many of the characters, we don’t get to see anything below the surface. The whole running themes of lying took the plot too far when we weren’t able to see anything true. It felt quite restricting when it came to trying to feel that sense of connection with Mare, Maven and Cal. I didn’t find there was a pull towards any of the love interests and I fell more in love with Evangeline more than anything. I know. I fell in love with a stereotypical evil girl who is thirsty for fame. Yep. The results of this novel. I mean, I no longer know what’s happened.

Having said all that, I did enjoy this novel. It leaves on a bit of a cliffhanger and I am intrigued to find out what happens next. I’m just hoping that it doesn’t continue to take chunks of other novels… Talk about all the books being the same.

I feel cheated and I’m torn because I want to read the rest of the series…

My rating

It was okay2 cups

Leave a Reply

