Review: The Evolution of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin (Mara Dyer #2)

mara dyerTitle: The Evolution of Mara Dyer (Mara Dyer #2)
Author: Michelle Hodkin
Publication Date: 28th February 2012  (Simon & Schuster UK)
Pages: 544
Genre: Paranormal
Format: Paperback

Links to buy: |Amazon UK| |Waterstones|  |Book Depository|

The truth about Mara Dyer’s dangerous and mysterious abilities continues to unravel in the New York Times bestselling sequel to the thrilling The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer. Mara Dyer once believed she could run from her past.She can’t. She used to think her problems were all in her head. They aren’t. She couldn’t imagine that after everything she’s been through, the boy she loves would still be keeping secrets. She’s wrong. In this gripping sequel to The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer, the truth evolves and choices prove deadly. What will become of Mara Dyer next? [Goodreads]

I was truly and utterly blown away by The Evolution of Mara Dyer. After a rocky start at the beginning of this trilogy, I was scared that as I read on it would only get worse. Oh how I was so terribly wrong. The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer is what I’m going to call the ‘set-up’ novel on what is to come because I did not expect any of the events to pan out the way they did. The structure and layout of The Evolution of Mara Dyer is essentially the same as The Unbecoming, however, the events and action seemed more paced and planned out.

After the events of the collapsing asylum where Mara’s best friend, boyfriend and boyfriend’s sister were killed, Mara has been struggling to understand the truth about that day and the truth about her. Yet the more she uncovers the crazier her family thinks she is and so has to hid it all from them. The only one who believes her is Noah.

Even though this is a paranormal fiction, I felt increasingly sad for Mara as the story went on. Not because of what kept happening to her but because of her family. Her ‘powers’ are translated into having a mental illness, which is completely understandable, but it just made me increasingly sad for her. Because on one half I understand that they would think that she is mentally ill, but on the other, it saddened me that her family (ie the people who should be closest to her) did not take her time and listen to her and understand her. So her frustration to me and her determination just changed to sadness to me. Furthermore, I also think this might have to do with the fact that she is going through everything alone – I guess Noah is there but he’s not there all the time and there are also things he won’t experience and Mara will.

I feel like the Mara Dyer series almost follows the route of George Orwell’s 1984. Yes? Maybe? I haven’t read any reviews that have seen this kind of comparison but I’m throwing it out there. Let me know if you understand where I’m coming from, those who have read the book…

My rating
I really liked it

4 cup

 

Leave a Reply

