Blogger Recognition Award

How people find me for these awards is beyond me, but it’s always exciting when it does happen (also, tell me how you find new bloggers..! I seriously fail at trying to find new and small bloggers). Thank you Christiana from Christiana Reads for the nomination!

Here is what you need to do:
Select 15 other blogs you want to give the award to!
Write a post to show off your award!
Give a brief story of how your blog got started, and give a piece or two of advice to new bloggers. Thank whoever nominated you, and provide a link to their blog. List who you’ve nominated in the post and link your post to Edge of Night – the original post.

How Did My Blog Start?
Should I give you the long or the short explanation? Long? Okay. In the very very beginning, I wanted to be a journalist and started a blog to test out my writing. I was a huge Disney Channel kid and was all over the news when it came down to all their stars so that was my ‘thing’ lets say. That news blog quickly flopped since I was basically dishing out second hand news, I let that dream go.

Skip a few years and I started to increase my intake in books. The overwhelming urge to share my thoughts and opinions to the world became something that I wanted to do and I didn’t care if no one came to read my blog or not, I just wanted to have somewhere to express my thoughts. And here we are. The Delirious Reader. * Although, in honestly, even though I call this blog The Delirious Reader I also use it for other topics and situations I find myself in because I have other hobbies and interests outside of reading too 😛

*Well, I lie a little.. Before this one, I had another blog on Blogger but I didn’t like anything about it – it was too much.. I switched to a more simplistic layout and renamed my blog.

Two Pieces of Advice To New Bloggers

Cutting down to two pieces of advice is actually harder than you may think. I might have been cheeky and put two pieces of advice in each one… hehe

1. Write for yourself and set goals
I am a firm believer that no matter what you write, you should write something you want to write. Something that reflects you as a person and makes everything that bit more unique. Don’t try and write like others or try and copy the format of another blogs. If you write for yourself and no one else, you’ll find the experience much more enjoyable and the readers will come naturally. Blogging, for many of the people I know, is a hobby and it shouldn’t become something that feels like a job.

But on top of this, set yourself goals. Why are you doing it? Set yourself a reason for why you are writing this blog. Ignore the fact that over time you may or may not get to start requesting books from publishers. Give yourself solid goals without that factor. Starting out is tough. But don’t think you need all the top charted books. I, for one, am not someone who reviews current top charted books nor do I request books from publishers. Motivation is key. The reason for what you are doing is also important. It hugely influences your blog and where you’ll take it.

2. Connect with others – but don’t compare – and have fun!
When you think about it, there are hundreds of other blogs out there doing the same thing as you. There are hundreds with thousand more followers than you. There are hundreds that have millions of views compared to you. Everyone is trying to achieve the same thing but it is something that takes time. Don’t envy them (okay, maybe you can a little) but interact with them. They’re an example that you can follow and it shows what you can achieve in a certain amount of time.

Make connections with other bloggers and share your thoughts and ideas. From what I’ve found so far, the whole community is very welcoming, no matter where in the world they are, and you’ll be missing a great deal if you restrict yourself. Get on Twitter and start tweeting. For the UKYA community, try get involved in the #ukyachat that happens – it’s a great place to discover bloggers and read blogs you wouldn’t have discovered otherwise.

I nominate… (not exactly 15 but close enough)

Rachel from Rambling Reads

Siobhan from The Nook 

Aria from Aria Reads

Erika and Miedjel from Partners In Books

Klinta from Bookowly

Emily from Books & Cleverness

Jasmine from jazzyfizzle 

Laura from Boats Against the Current

Sally from The Dark Dictator 

Cody from Literary-ly Obsessed

Tag – you’re it! Go with it and run run run!

 

Leave a Reply

