Review: Until Friday Night by Abbi Glines

 

untilTitle: Until Friday Night
Author: Abbi Glines
Publication Date: 25 August 2015  (Simon & Schuster UK)
Pages: 336
Genre: Romance
Format: Paperback

Links to buy: |Amazon UK| |Waterstones|  |Book Depository|

To everyone who knows him, West Ashby has always been that guy: the cocky, popular, too-handsome-for-his-own-good football god. But on the inside he’s grief-stricken – his father is dying and he hasn’t told anyone because he can’t face the truth. Now, as his pain grows unbearable, West finally decides he needs to talk to someone about his dad. So in the dark shadows of a party, he tells the one girl who doesn’t speak everything he can’t tell anyone else. West expected to feel relief, a flood of emotions – but what he didn’t expect was for Maggie Carleton to reply. For her to reveal a pain even deeper than his own. And, for them to form a connection so strong that he couldn’t ever let her go [Goodreads]

Okay, I’ll confess that I have read a fair amount of Abbi Glines.. this is not her best.

As soon as I hit the first page, I felt that the novel was a little rushed. We were, literally, thrown into the action and it was where you realise that you have to adjust quite quickly. It’s a shame that we didn’t get to know more about the characters beforehand, however more is told later on… Maybe this was so that we could read the characters as stereotypes and then as we go on we find out they’re not…? I think I would have preferred a little more character detail before the little info dump that happens later on.

I’ve seen this storyline before in Charade by Nyrae Dawn, which is a great read, and if I compare it honestly, I don’t think this novel can even compare. The idea and the setting was good, I was excited to read about characters in high school, especially because Glines mostly writes about characters 21 and above. My problem came down to the relationship that grew between West and Maggie. When it started out, I really enjoyed it. Maggie was there for West because she felt like he needed it and I loved that. She was there to listen and West gave Maggie a set of ears in return.  She was silent but still encouraging and it was something that I could relate to.  But then, of course, there are the ‘feelings’ that play in. (Who knew this would be the part I would dislike?). West was so clingy! Like, seriously people?! I’m glad it was picked up on by Maggie but then a few pages later – back to his clingy-self. It came across as quite pathetic.

An interesting character relationship dynamic was Maggie, her aunt, uncle and cousin. It reminded me very much of A Nightmares Dream by Kody Keplinger because of the whole ‘reconnecting’ and creating a whole family again. It was a nice addition to the novel, especially since we never see or hear much about parents in her other books.

It’s a weak start, I’m unsure if I will continue to read more..

My rating
I was okay

2 cups

Leave a Reply

