Am I Reviewing it Wrong?

This is a question I always ask myself when writing a review because if my review isn’t right, then aren’t I failing at my job?

It’s difficult to say whether or not a review is ‘right’ or ‘wrong’. People have their own styles and formats on how they review books. Over the couple of months, I’ve found myself talking solely about the characters in the books more than the plot. Although it is important to talk about the plot, in many cases I never know how to talk about it without spoilers. I also feel that the characters are the plot. Without the character there isn’t any plot at all, and so all we need to know is that the character is great and the rest will follow.

Of course, there are also the obvious, ‘the narration/the writing was quirky/different/interesting’ which I also throw in my reviews when necessary. I also talk a lot about the speed and pace of a novel. I read novels like watching a movie. I picture everything as a movie and where some people have distinct images of their characters, I have a form with little details.

Even when I talk about a certain book with my friends, it’s a certain character(/s) that I go talk about. Maybe I point out how realistic a plot is depending on if the genre is a contemporary and so on.

So I write reviews as if I am talking about a novel to a friend. There is nothing wrong about that. And there is probably nothing wrong with the way you write on your blog. I’m still a start up blogger and so many a times, I would look at other blogs and think that I am doing something wrong. But the thing is, that starting a blog takes time and a lot of your personality needs to be woven into it. That’s what makes people stay. Personality.

In the end, if all the blogs were the same, no one would bother.

One thought on “Am I Reviewing it Wrong?

  1. I try to write reviews as if I was talking to someone too. It is hard to talk about the plot too much because I don’t like to give anything away because even the smallest of things can spoil a book. Maybe not at the time, but it’s a little annoying when you’re midway through a book and suddenly realise what’s going to happen because of a small comment in a review you read.

Leave a Reply

