Review: The Poison Princess (The Arcana Chronicles #1) by Krelsey Cole

16066445Title: The Poison Princess (The Arcana Chronicles #1)
Author: Krelsey Cole
Publication Date: 2nd October 2012 (Simon and Schuster UK)
Pages: 368
Genre: Paranormal
Format: Paperback

Links to buy: |Amazon UK| |Waterstones|  |Book Depository|

Sixteen year old Evangeline “Evie” Greene leads a charmed life, until she begins experiencing horrifying hallucinations. When an apocalyptic event decimates her Louisiana hometown, killing everyone she loves, Evie realizes her hallucinations are actually visions of the future—and they’re still happening.
But she can’t do either alone.

Fighting for her life and desperate for answers, she must turn to her wrong-side-of-the-bayou classmate, the gorgeous and dangerous Jackson Deveaux, for help.

As Jackson and Evie race to find the source of her visions, they meet others who have gotten the same call and discover that Evie is not the only one with special powers. An ancient prophesy is being played out, and as the battle between good and evil intensifies, it is not always clear who is on which side… [Goodreads]

Okay okay, let’s not be judgemental over the cover.. or the author for that matter. If I saw this book in a bookshop, the cover itself would be a huge turn off. It’s the ultimate combination of cliché bad boy and pretty girl. The reason that I did pick up this book up was because of it’s Goodreads rating. Yes, sometimes the ratings aren’t all that reliable but I do check them from time to time. From Goodreads, this series is supposed to get better per book… I’ll have to read on and let you know my thoughts on that. But in the meantime, I can let you know my thoughts so far.

The book is split into two sections. One half is the present, narrated by a super creepy man who has welcomed Evie into his home, and the other is the past – or a retelling of the past from Evie’s point of view. Both view points are after the Flash, the apocalyptic event which swept through America and turned everyone into ash, unless they hid away at the time. The earth is deserted and has become a task of the survival of the fittest. Yet Evie saw all this happening before it happened for real. She saw visions but was sent away by her mother to sort out her mental health. I really loved the idea behind this novel. The link between the Tarot cards and the Major Arcana, I thought it was a really interesting way to start. I can’t wait to read on and find out more about the cards, because in a sense there is so much mystery behind them already. The cards themselves, hold such power anyway, they’ve always been a mystery, and to bring them out really excites me.

Jackson claims the role as Evie’s guard. Their relationship followed the simple romance cliché, but I kept feeling like there was much more behind all of Jackson’s pressure. He drones on about how he puts down all the truth for Evie and then pressures Evie to tell him her secrets. There was a constant nag that I got, as if he needed the truth to confirm something that he could then go and do. I have a funny feeling about him, let’s leave it at that. Evie was very wishy-washy with her feelings towards… everyone, from the very beginning to the very end.

The book left everything loose and prepares everyone for the second book, The Knight Prince, which is driving me crazy because I left that copy at home and I’m at uni and now I can’t read on – what a mistake!!

My opinions aren’t too strong around this book. Because Evie is still trying to understand what she is and what her ‘calling’ is, there is a little more focus on the romance aspect rather than action. Having read the blurb of the second novel, it does have a heavy romance side to it but I’m hoping that with Evie getting better understanding of her powers, we’ll see her come in to play a bit more on the action side.

My rating
I liked it

3 cup

Leave a Reply

