Review: Erased (Altered #2) by Jennifer Rush

17573557Title: Erased (Altered #2)
Author: Jennifer Rush
Publication Date: 6th January 2014 (Little Brown Books)
Pages: 288
Genre: Dystopian
Format: Hardback

Links to buy: Papperback |Amazon UK| |Book Depository|

After fleeing the Branch with Sam, Cas, and Nick, Anna is learning how to survive in hiding, following Sam’s rules:
Don’t draw attention to yourself.
Always carry a weapon.
Know your surroundings.
Watch your back.

When memories from Anna’s old life begin to resurface—and a figure from her childhood reappears—Anna’s loyalties are tested. Is it a Branch set-up, or could it be the reunion Anna has hoped for?

Ultimately, the answers hinge on one question: What was the real reason her memories were erased in the first place? [Goodreads]

After finishing Altered, I was super excited to start the next one. But I was quite disappointed with this one. Ultimately the book was too fast paced and there is a lot of space where a scene can be slowed down so we can see more of a character. In some places, I understood the use of its pace because of the whole ‘chase’ that is happening, it really kept that action/adventure side of the novel going. But, when it came down to their memories resurfacing, I was a little let down with how the characters dealt with them in the present. Other than the constant ‘what is my purpose?’ and ‘what did we do?’ questions that floated around, I wanted to see more of the past relationships and how they affected the present.

There are so many elements of each character that I love. Surprisingly, unlike the first book, I didn’t find Anna as awesome this time round but the boys are still great. I want to say Cas is my favourite but Nick also stood out as well, mostly because he got a bit more page cover than the first. Cas is still the character who brings the mood up a bit when all is getting too serious – I think he has better lines in Erased than Altered. The character dynamic in this novel is so strong and I adored the banter that they had, it’s something Rush is great at crafting. It’s such a shame that the action took over and there wasn’t enough time to appreciate them in a slower pace…

They all got off a bit too easily in the end. It was an unexpected ending but it was all too easy after the huge battles that they’ve had to take on. Everything seemed nicely wrapped up at the end of Erased so I’m interested in reading Reborn and seeing where it takes us. I hope it’s not a random add on that drags the series down more than Erased has.

My rating:
I liked it
3 cup

Leave a Reply

