Review: Obsidian (Lux #1) by Jennifer L Armentrout

19081403Title: Obsidian (Lux #1)
Author: Jennifer L Armentrout
Publication Date: 28th July 2015 (Harlequin Teen)
Pages: 400
Genre: Paranormal
Format: Paperback

Links to buy: |Amazon UK| |Waterstones| |Book Depository|

Starting over sucks.

When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I’d pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring… until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up.

And then he opened his mouth.

Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something… unexpected happens.

The hot alien living next door marks me.

You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon’s touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I’m getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades.

If I don’t kill him first, that is [Goodreads]

{Found this in my drafts, unsure why I never posted it. I will most likely not continue to review the Lux series. But enjoy this review nevertheless!}

This is my third series by Armentrout that I’ve read now. I admit, I probably read everything in the wrong order and should have started this one than the others. I’ve become quite familiar with her style of writing now and there are certain things I pick up on. But I’ll talk about this further down.

This book pushed me through a crazy amount of feels. And to be perfectly honest, I don’t think a book has taken me from feeling disgusted and shocked to falling in love and rolling on the floor. I went into this book without an idea of who Daemon was. So you can imagine my surprise when I found out that he was an alien and not.. well, a vampire (which I guess is what I thought he was). That whole, ‘revealing the truth’ bit was a little heavy on for me, a bit of an info dump. It don’t think I remember everything he really said but the main part that stuck with me was his true self. I was freakin’ freaked! I mean, all of Daemon’s hotness suddenly couldn’t make up for how weird he was under his fake skin. I couldn’t deal. Not one bit. And then this is where I knew Armentrout tops most authors I’ve read. I started to like Daemon again. It’s like that saying about how you look passed someones ugly when you love them. I’m pretty sure that’s what happened. I was super freaked, more than Kat (I think), and I was all, ‘no no Kat cannot be with him’. But here I am now, loving Daemon and needing Kat to be with him.

We can give a round of applause to Armentrout for not failing in giving us character interactions we love. The dialogue is yet again one of my favourite parts of an Armentrout novel. The snarky comments that annoy the hell out of me to the banter that makes me want something like that. It’s always really fun reading them, yet the way they speak feels completely natural. It really helps draw the story together and give the book a more grounded feeling, to what it could be. There is a slight hiccup in this though. After having chain read The Dark Elements series and the first three of the Convent series, I’ve noticed that there are some phrases that have been reused. I know, this is something that should be expected and reading books from the same author, it should be expected.

I’m excited to see where this series leads. I’m already starting Onyx and I love where it’s heading. Maybe it’s got a bit of push and pull on Kat’s side but I’ll talk about that in the Onyx dedicated review.

My rating
I really liked it

4 cup

Leave a Reply

