Mini Reviews: Burn for Burn Trilogy by Jenny Han and Siobhan Vivian

It’s been a while since I’ve been able to sit down and whiz through any book of my choosing. But now I’m back from uni and it is time to get back into the swing of things! I’ve tried to keep things spoiler free but that became more difficult in the second and third – so be warned!

burn for burnTitle: Burn for Burn (Burn for Burn #1)  [Goodreads]
Author: Jenny Han and Siobhan Vivian
Publication Date: February 2013 (Simon & Schuster UK)
Pages: 368
Genre: Contemporary
Format: Paperback

Links to buy: |Amazon UK| |Waterstones| |Book Depository|

My rating
I really liked it4 cup

 

 

Burn for Burn introduced us to three female leads. Lillia, the girl who has it all, Kat, who owns the ‘i-don’t-care’ look and Mary, the shy new girl. They all have people they want to take down and with one another, they find ways to humiliate and destroy their enemies. But in the end, they could be hurting themselves more than ever.

BUT damn! This book is great. It’s so fun and it is an amazingly entertaining read. The whole fun-side of the book really comes out through the ‘pranks’ that the girls do and with the quick upbeat pace, it really adds to the whole reading entertainment.

I am not very familiar with Han and Vivian’s writing (I have only read one of Han novel) and I am very curious to know Han and Vivian co-wrote this together. It was very clear that they wrote character’s that were part of three different American high school cliques but I loved them because they were so distinctive. My favourite was Kat, who I felt like was based of Kat Stratford from 10 Things I Hate About You but more Lindsey Shaw than Julia Stiles. I liked how she didn’t hang around and get too dented by friendship fall outs. Lillia was hands down my least favourite character. She has it all. Maybe this was done to show she has the most to lose but it was infuriating to read about how much she had and became the centre of attention.

fire with fire

Title: Fire with Fire (Burn for Burn #2) [Goodreads]
Author: Jenny Han and Siobhan Vivian
Publication Date: September 2013 (Simon & Schuster UK)
Pages: 528
Genre: Contemporary
Format: Paperback

Links to buy: |Amazon UK| |Waterstones| |Book Depository|

My rating
I liked it 3 cup

 

 

Fire with Fire became a novel version of John Tucker Must Die. Everything I loved about the first book was gone and for the majority of this novel focused on Reeve and Lillia. It was not what I was expecting, especially with its pace, but it was still a fun read.

Around three quarters of the way, the book picked up a little and it destroyed me. Han and Vivian are so sneaky!! I’m tempted to go back and reread the first novel to spot the hints because I bet they are so obvious now!!

ashes to ashes

Title: Ashes to Ashes (Burn for Burn #3) [Goodreads]
Author: Jenny Han and Siobhan Vivian
Publication Date: October 2014 (Simon & Schuster UK)
Pages: 368
Genre: Contemporary 
Format: Paperback

Links to buy: |Amazon UK| |Waterstones| |Book Depository|

My rating
It was okay2 cups

 

 

The third was the most disappointing. The twist in the second book was completely unexpected and thinking back, it was very cleverly done. Ashes to Ashes was a tedious read. It was an easy way out for all the character’s and the cliches completely peaked.

An easy way out, some characters not getting to be with the people I wanted and a happily ever after… kinda.

Leave a Reply

