Mini Reviews: Everneath Trilogy by Brodi Ashton

I’ve seen this novel read by a lot of people on booktube and was excited to start this series… I don’t know what’s worse, the fact that I wasted my time finishing this series or the fact that I pushed through and read all of them expecting better things.

9413044Title: Everneath (Everneath #1)  [Goodreads]
Author: Brodi Ashton
Publication Date: February 2012 (Simon & Schuster UK)
Pages: 384
Genre: Paranormal
Format: Paperback

Links to buy: |Amazon UK| |Waterstones| |Book Depository|

My rating
It was okay
2 cups

 

 

Not the best start. There was part of me that felt like the reader needed to know at least something about mythology. I knew nothing and it became really tricky to wrap my head around some of the plot. So before venturing on and reading this trilogy, I recommend maybe reading up on mythology (or already having a strong interest).

The prologue introduces us to Nikki, our main protagonist, who is in the everneath/underground and running away from Cole. She returns to the surface/Earth to say her final goodbyes before she goes with Cole to complete her transition but the pull from her boyfriend, Jack, binds her to the surface.

The novel jumps back and forth between ‘now’ and ‘past’ – which mostly revolved around how Jack came into Nikki’s life. It was a very slow process and it was only half way until the pieces start coming together. The story revolved around rekindling the romance between Jack and Nikki as well as how Cole came into their story and ruined… well, life.

 

16180082Title: Everbound (Everneath #2)  [Goodreads]
Author: Brodi Ashton
Publication Date: February 2013 (Simon & Schuster UK)
Pages: 368
Genre: Paranormal
Format: Paperback

Links to buy: |Amazon UK| |Waterstones| |Book Depository|

My rating
It was okay
2 cups

 

 

This novel gave us the longest journey I have ever read. Again, another very slow build as the focus was on Cole and Nikki building up their trust with one another. Everbound was split into multiple different chapters: the everneath, the past and also the surface/Earth). It was nice to learn a bit more about Cole, but all was vague. I wish there was more behind Cole because we simply see him as a ‘villain’ and from the small drops of history we know there is something more.

There was nothing that drew me to the characters. I found Nikki and Cole quite mundane characters – which shouldn’t be the case! But there was nothing relatable and it created a real barrier for my enjoyment of this book.

It was slow (and painful) and so the time pressure that Nikki was under didn’t feel real or important.

20559873Title: Evertrue (Everneath #3)  [Goodreads]
Author: Brodi Ashton
Publication Date: February 2014 (Simon & Schuster UK)
Pages: 355
Genre: Paranormal
Format: Paperback

Links to buy: |Amazon UK| |Waterstones| |Book Depository|

My rating
I didn’t like it

1 cup

 

 

 

 

This was. It was. I can’t.

The majority of the book was all the character’s going round in circles and repeating what they said in a previous chapter but with different words. It was such a tedious read. Everything seemed to be perfectly handed to Nikki, even when a problem occurred it wasn’t really a huge problem. Maybe my lack of character connection made this the worst read out of the three.

I skim read it near the end because I just wanted this series to be over.

3 thoughts on “Mini Reviews: Everneath Trilogy by Brodi Ashton

    • Aw, thank you. Also I have never even thought about that (the whole sweet thing)!! That’s amazing! I think I’m more mindblown than I should be right now xD

Leave a Reply

