Review: The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

17675462Title: The Raven Boys (The Raven Cycle #1)
Author: Maggie Stiefvater
Publication Date: September 2012 (Scholastic UK)
Pages: 409
Genre: Paranormal
Format: Paperback

Links to buy: |Amazon UK| |Waterstones| |Book Depository|

Every year, Blue Sargent stands next to her clairvoyant mother as the soon-to-be dead walk past. Blue never sees them–until this year, when a boy emerges from the dark and speaks to her.

His name is Gansey, a rich student at Aglionby, the local private school. Blue has a policy of staying away from Aglionby boys. Known as Raven Boys, they can only mean trouble.

But Blue is drawn to Gansey, in a way she can’t entirely explain. He is on a quest that has encompassed three other Raven Boys: Adam, the scholarship student who resents the privilege around him; Ronan, the fierce soul whose emotions range from anger to despair; and Noah, the taciturn watcher who notices many things but says very little.

For as long as she can remember, Blue has been warned that she will cause her true love to die. She doesn’t believe in true love, and never thought this would be a problem. But as her life becomes caught up in the strange and sinister world of the Raven Boys, she’s not so sure anymore. [Goodreads]

I definitely think I started on the wrong foot with The Raven Boys. I’ve heard a lot of praise for The Raven Cycle quartet and with YALC around the corner, it was time to catch up with everyone else.

This was a far more complex novel than stated in the blurb. Told in third person, the novel follows different characters in the book as their paths cross. It holds more mystery than anything else. The blurb felt like false advertisement as it sells the novel as a romance. It is very very very mild in romance and with the expectation of romance, it did disappoint. Paranormal/mystery/adventure – yes. It had a structure that reminded me of the TV series, The Bridge, as we read multiple threads which only draw together closer to the end. At times the *hint hint nudge nudge* felt very obvious but it still gave that the self-satification as we are able to solve the mystery before everyone else. And getting to be that step forward.

I found it hard to connect with Blue… or any of the character’s in the novel. Everyone was sprinkled around and so there wasn’t enough of anyone. Covering the basics, nothing caught my attention or attracted me. I had also previously come across a spoiler online so my eyes were peeled for that spoiler. It was infuriating and it definitely lessened my enjoyment.  The build was slow but picked up as everyone started to interact with one another. This point was also where I started to enjoy myself a bit more as there was less thumb twiddling and more action and pushing forward.

It is, however, a perfect platform to go into the the next novel. Lots of holes to fill and a helluva lot more character development to happen. I’m hoping that it’ll begin to pick up now the basics are covered and it will really get going.

My rating:
It was okay

2 cups

**Edit: After writing this review, I carried on reading the second and third novel. I won’t be reviewing the rest of the series as my feelings for this series have remained flat.

2 thoughts on “Review: The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

  1. Oh 😮 I quite liked this book. Of course, you’ll be disappointed that this is not a romance at all. But I loved that part (the no romance one).
    I join you on the fact that it’s hard to connect with Blue. But what about Adam? I quite like him 🙂
    Too bad you didn’t like it 🙂

    • I am to blame for not doing research before reading this book. I’m not against books with no romances – sometimes I prefer it – but a noticeable heads up would have been nice. Everyone seemed to just float along the ‘okay’ line :/ As the series goes on (I’ve only read up to book no. 3 so far) I like Noah the most but because of the narration bounce it’s difficult to really love him…!

Leave a Reply

